memories of snow

11 Feb

1. What I think was my very first snow was when I was about 5 years old when we lived in Lancaster, Texas. As rare as it is for a Texan to see snow, it’s even MORE of a rarity for Hawaiians to see it. So needless to say, my parents were ecstatic! They bundled me and my sister up. Shayla in a fuchsia jacket, and me in a turquoise one that resembled the kid on Christmas Story who couldn’t move his arms. We made a snow man. We ate the falling snow. We put sunglasses and a hat on our snow man (Thanks, dad). I actually remember this almost as clear as yesterday. My parents always made moments like those extremely memorable.

2. Valentines Day 2003. (or was it 2002?) I’m not sure of the exact year, but I remember David and I were dating, and he came over to my house to give me a card and have a snowball fight with me.

3. Christmas morning, 2008. Nick, Shayla, and the kids all stayed the night at our house and it had snowed on Christmas Eve. Luckily enough it stuck around for the next morning, and that was the first, and possibly only white Christmas I’ll ever have.

4. I don’t remember exactly how old I was… but it snowed a couple more times when we lived in Lancaster. And I remember one instance where Shayla and I went to play outside in the snow together, and of course- she made me cry. We both made our OWN snowmen. Mine resembled hers of course. She didn’t like that I was copying her, so she pushed mine over. When I started to cry, she proceeded to push ME over in the snow. Aw sisterly love 😉

5. Sometime last year, it barely snowed one day. June was really tiny so I dressed her up and took her outside. Her face turned red fast, so I got paranoid and went inside after only a few moments.

6. Germany 2006 (February) We let our dogs run around in the snow. That was a great memory for me because they were having so much fun… and they seemed so freaked out by it. I miss those dogs sometimes.

7. Germany 2006 (November or December. Can’t remember which one) David is “out in the field” as the Army calls it. Basically he was about 300 miles away outside doing some kind of training. I think I might have stepped outside for a moment, or possibly walked to Martha’s house. But I remember missing David very much. So much so, I pretty much ignored the snow.

8. April of 2005. Now this wasn’t necessarily snow… but in Texas, when you don’t get snow… hail can be pretty exciting. And this hail storm sticks out in my head, because the hail accumulated enough to make it look like it had snowed. I took pictures and sent them to David while he was in basic training. Anyone remember that storm?

9. Today. February 11, 2010. I woke up pretty early today. Wanted to see if David still had school or not. I’ve been sitting on my love seat that is by my window. It’s really pretty today. The window looks right over a small field where the trees are covered. Snow covered trees are one of the most pretty sites to me. I love how on snowy days you can’t really tell where the sky ends and where the land begins. It’s a white sky, white covered everything, and white snow falling at a steady pace. Laptop in my lap, cup of coffee in my hand. It’s a good, peaceful morning. And the best part? In houses near and far, the ones I love the most are sharing this morning with me in their own way.

** Immediately after posting this, my mom called me. Exactly what I mean… I love hearing her describe how much she loves this snow… I love my family.

++ I also added a picture of my precious baby girl, June, from yesterday after I posted this blog. We had so much fun playing in the snow!! Probably my top snow memory for now.

4 Responses to “memories of snow”

  1. Slamdunk February 11, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    Great memories of snow. The family moments are the best.

  2. Shaylalita February 11, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    I love this post. I was so mean! Why didn’t you suffocate me with a pillow when you had the chance? We shared a bed/futon for years! Am we both know I have no arm strength. Haha! What a gift you have, Shanelle. I will always admire who you are and your way with words. Sandwhich? It’s never too late to suffocate me…

    • Shaylalita February 11, 2010 at 10:17 am #

      And we both know. And! See…sweet Lord…do it now before it’s too late 🙂

      • shanelley February 11, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

        Whatever Shayla. My t-rex, baby arms couldn’t suffocate you if I tried. haha! That snow memory is a good one 🙂 But I take everything with a grain of salt. I still have a piece of lead stuck in my foot thanks to you!!

Leave a Reply

