amazing concerts of 2009.

16 Dec

I had the privilege of attending a dozen or so live concerts this year. In high school, I was at a local show every weekend, but before this year, I hardly ever got to see bands I loved live for awhile. On top of getting to be a part of some incredible performances, I was also fortunate to be accompanied by friends that are near and dear to me, and on a few occasions, my handsome hubby was able to be with me as well. Here is a brief account of the shows that stood out the most to me, in the order of when they were attended.

1. The New Frontiers Final Show – It was sad to say goodbye to such a phenomenal group, who were also my friends, but this show was a great way to say goodbye. This was a very memorable show.

2. Flight of the Conchords – Our seats really sucked, as you will see in the video below. But I was so happy to be there and sing along to their hilarious songs. They opened with “Robots” in which they were dressed up in their cardboard outfits. haha!

3. Sarah Jaffe – I am so thankful my sister introduced me to her music. It is very haunting and moving, and seeing her live is no different. I saw her twice this year, and both times were great.

4. Jenny Lewis – She is by far THE most adorable person to see live. I wanted to marry her by the end of the night. Favorite songs were “See Fernando”, which she opened with, and “The Charging Sky”.

5. David Bazan – I was so wrapped up in this show, that I didn’t get any video, but let me just say… this was such a good show. Probably #2 of the year. It would be hard for me to pick a favorite song, because they all blew me away.

6. Regina Spektor – she is one of those people that you have to see live before you judge her music. I already loved her anyways, but this concert left me speechless. She did a good range of old and new songs, and as you will see in the video, she did this acapella song about who people are based on their eye colors. I wish you could have been there just for that song alone. Here are the lyrics just to show you how cute it was. http://bit.ly/4vXpWB

7. Imogen Heap – and this is it folks. the show I’ve been waiting years to attend. It was everything I expected and more. Her first song was “First Train Home” and I couldn’t help but tear up when I saw her. I know, I’m a dork. But she is truly an innovator and she changed my life, and helped me fall back in love with music over six years ago. The encore was the best part of the night. She started with “Hide and Seek” and continued with an audience-participating version of “Just For Now”.  I will never forget this night as long as I live.

8. Yo Gabba Gabba – Readers of this blog already know my undying love for DJ Lance Rock, but this day was so special to me. You will see in the video how excited June was to be there. It made my heart happier than it has been in a long time. For those who don’t watch the show, Biz Markie is a reoccurring performer and was able to be on their live tour. The crowd went nuts when he got on stage, and rightfully so. All in all, this was one of the best days we’ve had as a family ever. I loved it.

9. J. Tillman – I almost didn’t go to this show, because it was the same day as Yo Gabba Gabba, but after some talking into by good friends, I went. And I’m so glad I did. Josh Tillman’s voice could calm the worst storm. He is even more unbelievable live than I could have imagined. Josh and his band really brought the house down with “Though I Have Wronged You” It made me very emotional, in the best way possible.

Here is a video of seven of these performances. Apologies for my shaky hands, and poor focus on some of the clips. Hope you enjoy sharing a little bit of these shows with me.

3 Responses to “amazing concerts of 2009.”

  1. Shaylalita December 17, 2009 at 12:08 am #

    I am so glad I was able to attend five out of the nine shows you listed. The last one could have ruined our relationship, my dear sister. Debating whether or not to go made me wonder what you were thinking. I was so confused. I am so glad you went with one of your closest friends and really enjoyed yourself. I am so proud to say that Josh Tillman has changed my life. I am also very glad you gave Sarah Jaffe a chance and that we went to that crazy opening for “Smoke” to see her preform live and for free!!! Amazing. We are so lucky to be able to be around so much amazing music. Thanks for posting this, Shanelley. Love you!

  2. Ami Wallace December 17, 2009 at 10:03 am #

    You are right about Josh Tillman’s voice. I can’t remember if I cried twice or three times but needless to say it was definitely an emotional show and I’m so glad that you went with me. Him giving me a smile in passing was the highlight of my year. Ha! Other than that show, I went to two others with you and I think it’s worth mentioning that This Will Destroy You was at the New Frontiers show. I had never heard them before that night and now I can’t get enough. I’m beyond jealous that I didn’t get to go to the David Bazan show but I plan to make up for that by going to see him in Oklahoma. I love you and I love your blog!

  3. sayitwithsalt January 10, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    It amazes me the creativity that some people have. I feel blessed with those I have got to be a witness to.

Leave a Reply

